Illawarra Basketball Association Ltd Annual General Meeting

6:00pm Tuesday 29th November 2022

Beaton Park Tennis Courts 37 Foley Street, Gwynneville NSW 2500



MINUTES

1. Meeting opened - 6.00pm, 29th November 2022

Sam Ackroyd, President of the Illawarra Basketball Association Ltd, formally opened the meeting and thanked everyone for their attendance.

Attendance

Members:

Sam Ackroyd

Radmila Avramovic

Craig Browne

Rebecca Browne

Darren Buchanan

Rosanna Caltabino

Oscar Foreman

Graeme Haney

Betty Hassen

Jay Hughs

Sandra Kolednik

Graham Lancaster

Edith MacDonald

Sue Paulic

Ian Richardson

Robin Robinson

Glen Stutchbury

Kim Stuchtbury

Andrew Thornberry

Non-members:

Geoff Tripp (BNSW)

David Watts (BNSW)

Apologies

Peter Brettell

Wendy Brown

Callum Clabour

Emily Cornford

Erik Kive

Dan Muller

Jenette Stutchbury

2. To confirm the minutes of the Annual meeting held on 13th February 2022.

2.1. Motion: 'To confirm the minutes of the Annual meeting held on 13th February 2022'.

Motion: Radmila Avramovic Second: Graham. Lancaster

3. To receive and consider the Financial Statements required to be submitted to members pursuant to the Act

3.1<u>Motion</u>: 'To receive and consider the Financial Statements required to be submitted to members pursuant to the Act'.

Motion: Radmila Avramovic Second: Graham Lancaster

The Chair asked the members if there were any questions on the audited reports.

Q-What is other revenue?

A-Sponsorship& early collection of fees.

Q- Is Rep and NBL 1 revenue combined?

A-Contact Mark Caldwell when he returns.

Q-Why has the Senior comp revenue dropped?

A-Slow return of players post Covid.

Q-How has the revenue increased so much from previous years?

A-Sponsorship and NBL 1.

Graham Haney-Congratulated Oscar on his success in gaining new Sponsors and the revenue that it has generated. He also thanked the BI Board for the successful year.

Oscar Foreman-Thanked Rosanna for the huge effort of managing both the 2022 men and women's NBL 1 team. A big job to complete for one team alone so to complete it for two at the same time is monumental.

Sam Ackroyd- Explained any further questions regarding the financial statement should be directed to Mark Caldwell the Treasurer on his return from annual leave.

The Audited Financial Statements for the year ended 30 June 2022 were received by the members.

4. To receive reports on activities of the company during 2022.

The Chair asked the members if there were any questions on the annual report.

There were no questions.

5. Nominations for Life Membership

None received

6. Constitution Amendments

None received.

7. Election of Officer Bearers

The Chair relinquished the election process officiation over to Jeff Tripp (BNSW).

Jeff Tripp: Introduced himself and thanked Oscar Foreman and Edith MacDonald for the invitation to attend the 2022 BI AGM. He also acknowledged the presence of BNSW Member Protection Officer David Watts. David Watts would act as the election scrutineers along with Jeff. He explained that it was necessary for the Chair (Sam Ackroyd) to relinquish his role as the chair as he was also running for election.

Nominations received for election to the Board are:

- Andrew Thornberry
- Jay Hughes
- Sam Ackroyd
- Dan Muller

8. Election of Officer Bearers

Each nominee was given the opportunity to speak to their nomination as a director.

Oscar Foreman presented Dan Mullers nomination speech.

Members voted by poll on for the election of directors with Four (4) director position vacancies.

The following ordinary resolution was put to a poll:

8.1. "That Andrew THORNBERRY be elected as a director of Illawarra Basketball Association Limited."

For	Against	Abstain	
19	0	0	

This ordinary resolution was **passed** by a 50% majority with 100%.

8.2. "That Jay HUGHS be elected as a director of Illawarra Basketball Association Limited."

For	Against	Abstain	
8	9	1	

This ordinary resolution was **not passed** by a 50% majority with 47 %.

8.3. "That Sam ACKROYD be elected as a director of Illawarra Basketball Association Limited."

For	Against	Abstain	
11	9	0	

This ordinary resolution was **passed** by a 50% majority with 55%.

8.4. "That Dan MULLER be elected as a director of Illawarra Basketball Association Limited.

For	Against	Abstain
11	5	2

This ordinary resolution was **passed** by a 50% majority with 69%.

Jeff Tripp -Explained that there was now a Casual Vacancy on the board for one position. The BI Board has the choice to fill the vacancy or not – depending on BI needs. That person can only hold that position for 12 months until the 2023 BI AGM.

Graham Haney-Asked Jeff Tripp, if all four directors could be re-elected due to the vacancy of four positions. Jeff explained that our current constitution states that each nomination is for an individual not for a group and that each individual nominee must receive over 50% of the votes to be re-elected. He also explained that for this rule to change the current Bl board would need to change the constitution.

9.Other business

9. Meeting Closed.

Meeting closed at 6:32 pm

President's Award- Presented to Simon Makres given by Sam Akroyd. Sam Ackroyd thanked Simon for all his hard work. Simon was absent. Sam acknowledged he would present it to him later.

Chairperson Name: Sam A	.ckroyd		
Chairperson Signature:	SAI		
Date:			