top of page

NBL1 EAST & Waratah League

Illawarra Hawks


NBL1 is a semi-professional basketball league in Australia, consisting of South, North, Central, West Conferences and East Conferences with both men’s and women’s competitions.


Each conference is run by their respective state governing body, with the league including 72 clubs from across every state and territory.


The league replaced the South East Australian Basketball League (SEABL), Australia’s pre-eminent semi-professional basketball league between 1981 and 2018.

The Spalding Waratah League is the senior basketball league in NSW, which comprises of 5 divisions. The season commences in March each year with the finals weekend being held in August. 

Basketball NSW in partnership with Wheelchair Sports NSW/ACT unveiled the inaugural teams set to compete in the new Spalding Waratah Wheelchair League which began in 2022.

NBL1 East inaugural season was in 2022. 

Both teams made it through to the finals.

All information for the 2024 Senior Representative Program can be found in the Hand Book

2024 Youth League Men Squad List

2024 NBL1 Men Squad List

All NBL1 Women all YL Women have progressed to next week.

NBL1 Sponsor logos graphic
bottom of page