top of page

2022 Association Awards

Graduating Athletes

To be a Basketball lllawarra graduating athlete in our Junior Rep Program, the athlete must have represented the club from Under 12s to Under 18s across their entire junior basketball career. This year we are fortunate enough to acknowledge 7 athletes who have represented Basketball lllawarra for the last 7 or more years as part of the Junior Rep Program.

Congratulations to:

• Benjamin Lu

• Benjamin Hunwick

• Jackson Paulic

• Mason Broadhead

• Tobias Delaney

• Imogen Thompson

• Eva Loncar

Junior Referee of the Year - Caitlyn Bloomfield

Caitlyn Bloomfield has been a dedicated Basketball lllawarra and Basketball NSW representative for several years. She represented the association at the NSW U18 State Championships whilst refereeing Monday to Friday at the Snakepit in our Local Competitions. She is currently working towards her advance refereeing grading and will enter the NSW Senior Waratah League in 2023 as a representative of Basketball lllawarra. Basketball lllawarra would like to thank Caitlyn for her countless hours and dedication to the association and we look forward to watching her career flourish.

Junior Coach of the Year - Brett Bonham

Our Junior Coach of the Year has been awarded to a Coach that has shown dedication and commitment to their team, allowing them to participate at a higher level than they ever expected to play at. They have allowed their team to develop as individuals first to compete at the highest level they can in the future.

Our Junior Coach of the Year has been awarded to Brett Bonham.

Junior Male Athlete of the Year - Brad Ballinger

Brad Ballinger lead his lllawarra side in scoring and rebounding throughout the JPL Season. He was selected in the NSW U18 Country Men State Team where they finished 4th at the National Championships in April this year. Selection into the U17 Australian Squad was a highlight and milestone for his Junior Basketball career, but unfortunately contracting COVID made him unable to attend the Australian Camp.

Junior Female Athlete of the Year - Imogen Thompson

Imogen Thompson has represented our Association with a great deal of pride and respect through all her years. As a result of her hard work, she has had the opportunity to represent NSW on several Development Tours and Camps. This year she was selected in the NSW Country State Team who claimed Bronze at the Championships. Imogen not only contributes on the court, but this year has begun to give back to the Association through coaching at our Development Programs whilst finishing her studies. We are excited to watch Imogen begin her Senior Career at Basketball lllawarra.

Junior Team of the Year - Under 14 Girls JPL

Basketball lllawarra's team of the year has been awarded to a team that not only has excelled on court in competition but has created an environment and culture within their team that has been recognised as one of the best across their age group in the state of NSW. The Under 14 Girls JPL team includes several very gifted and talented young basketballers who are yet to reach their potential as individuals and as a team. They were the front runners for majority of their regular season and have continued to improve and enhance their game because of their training and attitude to competing at a high-level week in and week out. We wish the team all the best of luck over the next 7 weeks leading up to their Nationals Campaign.


bottom of page